Let’s refresh that Guantanamo discussion

22 10 2012

Prior to the final Presidential candidate debate on Monday, I thought this a good time to refresh the memory about Obama’s promise to close Guantanamo.

It is not closed.

Now, I think the fact that it remains open is a good thing – I didn’t think it should be closed. I’d rather have trials for terrorists held in a corner of Cuba than on U.S. soil.

But what Guantanamo does is focus on a broken promise from Obama. He wants to chide Romney for changing his position, but this change from Obama is drastic. He focused on Guantanamo so much it was one of the first items of business on his first day in office.

My repeatable recap on Guantanamo is here. Let’s see if this gets brought up in the debate.

Actions

Information




